Wednesday, October 05, 2005

Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded today and the winners are...
Roy J. Glauber
Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
"for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence"
John L. Hall
JILA, University of Colorado and National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder, CO, USA and
Theodor W. Hänsch
Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany
"for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique".



Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Abe said...

I've been getting quite a few hits on DLMSY from people searching for info about EEE lately. I thought perhaps he had some new claim or column in the Manila Times.

I guess the physics Nobel didn't come through. Maybe next year. :)

roy choco said...

Yes, i just signed up for stat counter and I am having fun checking the stats I get, and there have been a lot (relatively speaking since I do not get a lot of traffic) of people checking out EEE. I have no idea why.

Yup, he joins a long list of distinguished persons who were not awarded a nobel prize including Mahatma Gandhi

The Nashman said...

EE is never going to win the Nobel Prize....but he is jolly good fun to read I must say.....

roy choco said...

EEE is claiming that he was cheated out of this years Nobel prize. Definitely delusional. I wonder if anybody in the Kalayaan college actually reads about EEE, why is he still teaching there?